Release Blitz Book Review: The Wild Princess

I am pleased to be part of the book tour for  The Wild Princess: A Novel of Queen Victoria's Defiant Daughter by Mary Hart Perry

From the Publisher:

To the court and subjects of Queen Victoria, young Princess Louise—later the Duchess of
Argyll—was the “Wild One.” Proud and impetuous, she fought the constraints placed on her and her brothers and sisters, dreamed of becoming an artist, and broke with a three-hundred-year-old tradition by marrying outside of the privileged circle of European royals.
Some said she wed for love. Others whispered of a scandal covered up by the Crown. It will take a handsome American, recruited by the queen’s elite Secret Service, to discover the truth. But even as Stephen Byrne— code name the Raven—vows to risk his life to protect the royal family from violent Irish radicals, he tempts Louise with a forbidden love that could prove just as dangerous.

In the vein of Philippa Gregory, Mary Hart Perry tells the riveting story of an extraordinary
woman—a princess who refused to give up on her dreams, including her right to true love.

My Review:

From the start, this book offers the reader a rich overview of what to expect from the whole novel. The scene is set, the bride is a-twitter and the gown is lovely, but of course the path of a story cannot run smoothly, or it wouldn't be worth writing down...  Written from the perspective of a life well lived, this book offers an interesting glimpse into the Victorian world through the eyes of someone who would prefer to live their own life.

With sweeping language, wonderful characters and a plot based in historical reality, Mary Hart Perry captures both an era and a lifetime of hidden secrets and intrigue with her wonderful writing.
If you enjoy biographical novels, particularly historical fiction, then this is a must read in your TBR pile!

Disclaimer: I received an online ARC of this book to facilitate my review.  All opinions are my own.